About the Citizens' Climate Lobby 

The Citizens' Climate Lobby (CCL) is an apolitical non-profit grassroots movement that wants to persuade the government to adopt an effective and ambitious climate policy.

In order to generate the political will to implement our carbon tax and carbon dividend proposal, we train and support volunteers to build relationships with political elected representatives, the media and the local community.

The Citizens' Climate Lobby was founded in the United States and already has more than 400 groups there. The CCL is also active outside the US, for example in Canada, Australia and India. In Europe there are active groups in many Member States, including Germany, Sweden, Portugal, Denmark, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom.

The Belgian branch of the Citizens' Climate Lobby was recently founded. Volunteers are very welcome.  Contact us via the contact form.

Our values

Responsibility: we want to preserve the bearing capacity of our planet for our and future generations. We need to reinvigorate climate protection after the Paris agreement and set more ambitious targets to reduce harmful emissions.

Liberty: We want to reduce CO2 emissions in the most effective and least bureaucratic way, by introducing a carbon fee that rewards climate protection and gives polluters the freedom to decide how they will reduce their emissions.

Fairness: Climate change is a problem of injustice. Fossil fuel companies make billions in profits, but the damage caused by their activities must be paid for by ordinary people. We are convinced that climate change can only be solved by tackling this injustice.

We want those who bear the greatest responsibility for climate change (i.e. the biggest polluters, these are generally the - extreme - rich) to pay to solve the climate problem. The practical implementation is done by introducing a carbon fee and dividend. The proceeds of the carbon fee are distributed equally as a carbon dividend to all inhabitants of the country. Low and middle incomes in particular will benefit financially as a result.

What we do

We are lobbying for our proposal on carbon tax and carbon dividend, by building good relations with the representatives of different political parties. This is done with mutual respect and understanding.

 

We write letters and opinion pieces to the media, and we meet with the editors to obtain their support. We also work with digital media, radio, television and all forms of social media.

 

We give presentations and participate in events to promote the CCL and to present our proposal for a carbon tax and carbon dividend.

Sur le Lobby Citoyen pour le Climat 

Le Lobby Citoyen pour le Climat est un mouvement de base apolitique et sans but lucratif qui veut inciter les autorités à réaliser une politique climatique efficace et ambitieuse.

 

Afin de générer la volonté politique qui fasse entrer dans les esprits notre proposition d’une taxe sur le carbone et d’un dividende carbonique nous formons des bénévoles pour établir des relations avec les élus politiques, avec les média et avec les communautés locales.

 

Le Lobby Citoyen pour le Climat a été créé dans les Etats-Unis et il y compte déjà plus de 400 groupes. Le LCC est actif également en dehors des Etats-Unis, e.a. au Canada, en Australie en en Inde. L’Europe compte déjà des groupes actifs en Allemagne, en Suède, au Portugal et au Royaume-Uni e.a.

 

La section belge du LCC en ce moment est en pleine construction. Des bénévoles sont donc plus que bienvenus. Contactez-nous via le formulaire de contact.

Nos valeurs

La responsabilité: nous voulons conserver la viabilité de notre planète pour notre génération à nous et pour les générations à venir. Après l’accord de Paris, nous devons absolument redynamiser la protection du climat et formuler des objectifs plus ambitieux pour limiter les émissions nocives.

 

Liberté: Nous voulons réduire les émissions CO2 de la manière la plus efficace et en même temps le moins bureaucratiquement possible. Ceci peut se réaliser en introduisant une taxe sur le CO2 qui récompense la protection du climat et qui permet aux pollueurs de décider de quelle manière ils réduiront leurs émissions.

 

Equité: Le rendement de la taxe sur le carbone sera réparti de façon équitable entre tous les habitants du pays, à travers un « dividende carbone ». Pour les concitoyens plus démunis surtout ce dividende sera,  de manière générale,  plus élevé que les coûts supplémentaires causés par la taxe.

Ce que nous faisons

Nous faisons du lobbying en faveur de nos propositions pour la taxe sur le carbone et dividende carbone, en établissant de bonnes relations avec les représentants de différents partis politiques. En ceci nous nous basons sur le respect et la compréhension mutuelle.

 

Nous écrivons des lettres et des articles d’opinion destinés aux médias et nous organisons des réunions avec les éditeurs pour obtenir leur appui. Nous coopérons également avec les médias numériques, la radio, la télé et les différents médias sociaux..

 

Nous organisons des présentations et participons à des événements pour promouvoir le LCC et pour faire connaître nos propositions sur la taxe sur le carbone et le dividende carbonique.